1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. The Motor Ombudsman
  4. When were The Motor Ombudsman’s Motor Industry Codes of Practice introduced?

The Motor Ombudsman’s four Codes of Practice evolved from those used by its predecessor Motor Codes, and are as follows:


  • First launched in 1976, and endorsed by the Office of Fair Trading (OFT) in 2004, the New Car Code ensures that vehicle manufacturers supply new cars and warranties to consumers responsibly.


  • The Service and Repair Code, introduced in 2008, ensures that consumers receive an honest and fair service when visiting an accredited business’ premises for work or repairs on their vehicle.


  • The Vehicle Warranty Products Code, which aims to aims to provide guidelines for the supply of automotive warranties, including coverage of both insured and non-insured Products, was unveiled in 2009.


  • The Vehicle Sales Code was launched in 2016, and became the first Code of Practice of its kind to cover the sale of both new and used cars.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles